President Buhari Appoints New Service Chiefs

NEWSMAN, Abuja – President Muhammadu Buhari has accepted the immediate resignation of the Service Chiefs, and their retirement from service.

A statement signed by the Special Adviser to the President, (Media and Publicity) Femi Adesina noted that those involved are the Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin; Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

President Buhari who thanked the outgoing Service Chiefs for what he calls their “overwhelming achievements in our efforts at bringing enduring peace to our dear country,” further wished them well in their future endeavours.

The new Service Chiefs are: Major-General Leo Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Major-General I. Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff; and Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao, Chief of Air Staff.

Buhari congratulated the new Service Chiefs, and urged them to be loyal and dedicated in the discharge of their responsibilities.

Lawmakers had asked President Muhammadu Buhari to immediately initiate a way to phase out the current Service Chiefs and replace them with new ones with fresh ideas and solutions.

This came as one of the many resolutions that the lawmakers adopted, following the brutal massacre of 43 rice farmers in Zabarmari District of Jere Local Government Area of Borno State. 

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *