izmir escort

Federal High Court decongests courtrooms, new judges resume duties

NEWSMAN, Ikeja – Federal High Court Lagos on Tuesday, began decongestion and re-arrangement of court files, following resumption of court activities after the two-month-old strike by the Judiciary Staff Union of Nigeria (JUSUN).

Registrars of various courts were busy sorting out court files, while others were seen moving files to different court rooms.

It was reported that JUSUN had on April 6, began an indefinite strike action seeking implementation of financial autonomy for the Judiciary.

The strike was however, called off on June 9, after settlement talks had been reached between the union and relevant stakeholders.

Federal High Court Lagos registrars were all dutifully engaged in decongesting the court rooms and moving files around.

Deputy Chief Registrar (DCR) of the court, Clement Ende, in an interview expressed delight over the resumption.

”The reasons files are being moved around is because of the change in nomenclature and courtrooms. We have new judges”, she said.

It was reported that few weeks before the JUSUN strike, some judges of the Federal High court were transferred to other jurisdictions.

As to when the courts will now fully commence sittings, the DCR, said:” that depends on the individual judges, as some of the new judges may want to first settle down and familiarise themselves with the courtrooms before beginning proceedings.

“So, let’s give them this week to look at their files as it is the first time they will be looking into the files and then give dates.

”The old judges may likely begin sitting by tomorrow, but the new ones may require a little more time, she said.

Courtroom placement for the new judges are Court one- Chief Judge Abdul Kafarati, Court two- Justice Ayokunle Faji, Court three- Justice A.L Allagboa, Court four- Justice Chukwujekwu Aneke, Court five- Justice D.E Osiagor, and Cour six- Justice Nicholas Oweibo, The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reported.

Others are; Court seven– Justice Y. Bogoro, Court Eight– Justice A. Aluko, Court Nine– Justice P.O Lifu, Court 10- Justice T.G Ringim, and Court 11 — Justice A.O Awogboro.

A former judge of the Lagos division, Justice Sule Hassan, has been elevated to the Court of Appeal.

The newly transferred judges are more likely to commence full sittings in the Lagos division from next week.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Kapaklı escort Kilimli escort Termal escort Korgan escort Burhaniye escort Of escort Şehzadeler escort Marmaris escort Karaköprü escort Dulkadiroğlu escort Keşap escort Turhal escort Suşehri escort Yerköy escort Oba escort Malkara escort Gozlu escort Gelibolu escort Perşembe escort Edremit escort Giresun mutlu son Gemlik mutlu son Havza mutlu son Fethiye mutlu son Gerze mutlu son Gümüşhane mutlu son Görükle mutlu son Hendek mutlu son Gediz mutlu son Göle mutlu son Sandıklı mutlu son Konya mutlu son Derince mutlu son Küçükcekmece mutlu son Şanlıurfa mutlu son Kuşadası mutlu son